CIWM Announces Sustainability & Resource Awards Finalists

ciwm5nov2015awards_2000px-125The Chartered Institution of Wastes Management (CIWM) has revealed the finalists for this year’s Sustainability & Resource Awards.

CIWM received a record number of entries this year. They have now been through a process of selection to reveal the outstanding finalists.

Tina Benfield, technical manager at CIWM, said: “Not only the most entries ever but the most impressive too. It’s a fantastic testament to the brilliant work going on right across the industry from which all of us can learn.”

These long-standing and well-respected awards are given for outstanding achievement in the sustainability, resource and waste industry.

Judged by experts in the sector, the Sustainability & Resource Awards are given for outstanding achievement in the sustainability, resources and waste industry.

2016 Finalists:

HAKO Machines Best Innovation in Vehicle, Plant and Equipment Award

  • Airboss Limited
  • Mibin Ltd
  • Vehicle Weighing Solutions & VWS Software Solutions
  • Vision Techniques – BrakeSafe

The Roger Hewitt Learning & Development Award

  • Education Team, Trident Park ERF, Cardiff
  • Milton Keynes College: Offender Learning
  • Sustainable Resource Management Team – Cambrian Training Company

Best Reuse and Waste Prevention Project Award

  • Costain Skanska JV C412 Bond Street Station (Crossrail)
  • Durham County Council – Green Move Out Campaign
  • Melton Foods in partnership with Veris Strategies
  • The Sustainability Lab – Bangor University
  • Warwickshire County Council

Open Sky Award for Demonstrating Project Innovation

  • Aquapak Polymers Ltd
  • Jaguar Land Rover
  • Ramboll Environ, Coal Authority & Environment Agency
  • Recycling Technologies Ltd

Hills Waste Solutions Best Recycling Project Award

  • GJD Services Ltd
  • Jaguar Land Rover
  • Network Rail Route Services, Supply Chain Operations
  • Surrey Waste Partnership

NFDC Most Sustainable Construction and Demolition Project Award

  • McGee Group (Holdings) Ltd
  • Network Rail, Q Sustain, and Mace
  • R Collard Ltd
  • Verde SW1- Multiplex – Multiplex Construction Europe Ltd

Most Effective Communications Campaign Award

  • Canary Wharf Group Ltd in partnership with The Cawley Group
  • Hubbub UK – Neat Streets
  • Travis Perkins PLC
  • Wrap – Love Your Clothes

The Catalyst Corporate Finance Waste and Resources Fast 50

  • Binn Skips
  • Blue Machinery (Central)
  • First Mile
  • JBT Waste Services
  • Mick George
  • O’Donovan Waste Disposal
  • R Collard
  • Seneca Environmental Solutions
  • Simply Waste Solutions
  • Willshee’s Waste & Recycling

The ReFood Corporate Sustainability Business of the Year

  • Aldi UK
  • BAM Contractors

Industry Leader of the Year

  • Ray Georgeson MBE
  • Julie Hill
  • Dr Dominic Hogg
  • Lee Marshall
  • David Palmer-Jones
  • Sophie Thomas

GJF Delivering Health & Safety Best Practice Award

  • Grundon Waste Management Limited
  • South Staffordshire Council and Biffa Munificial Ltd
  • WasteCycle
  • Waste and Recycling Service, Aderdeen City Council

Best Resources Project by Facilities Management Award

  • Bangor University – #LoveHalls
  • Bridport Household Recycling Centre (Broomhills): Dorset Waste Partnership
  • Guy’s and St Thomas’ NHS Foundation Trust (in partnership with Bywaters)
  • ZSL London and Whipsnade Zoo (in partnership with ACM Environmental PLC)

For information on how to attend the event click here.

Send this to a friend