CIWM Awards 2014: Winners Announced

The 2014 winners of the CIWM Awards have been unveiled, representing the pinnacle of best practice and innovation in the waste and resources industry. 

Over 400 attendees gathered at the ceremony held at the London Marriot, which was hosted this year by TV presenter and adventurer, Helen Skelton, who’s widely known for presenting BBC’s Blue Peter and Countryfile.

The CIWM Awards recognise the achievements and innovations made by companies, local authorities, professionals and academics, and cover all aspects of the industry – from waste and resource management, to sustainability and energy recovery.

The CIWM Awards are split into two parts: The Professional Awards, which are awarded for professional development and achievements; and the Sustainable and Resource Industry Awards, which are awarded for public sector and commercial excellence.

Judged by the most senior experts in the sector, the Awards represent the highest level of achievement.

The 53 shortlisted companies for 2014 showcased the innovative approach to waste and resource management that is being undertaken by private organisations and local authorities.


The Professional Awards’ Winners

Helen Skelton
Helen Skelton

Bill Townend International Members Award – Georgina Davis 

James Jackson Award – Professor Jim Baird; Dr Robin Curry; Paulo Cruz

Roger Perry Award For Best Research Paper – John Dururu 

Ben Heath Certificate For Outstanding Presentations – Carlos Ludlow-Palafox; Victoria Hutchin; Tara Flanagan; David Palmer-Jones; Craig Anderson; John Ahern; Alasdair Meldrum; Lucie Higham; Maria Vinigradova. 

PEEL People’s Cup – Belfast City Council, Waste Management Service, Dargan Waste Transfer Station

James Sumner Award – Robert Reinhardt 

Scottish Waste And Resource Sector Award – Laura Rodriguez Labajos

Waste Regulation Award – Professor Ian Williams; Clare Marsden; Suzanne Laidlaw; Katie Pullen; Alastair MacGregor; François Passant 


The Sustainability and Resource Industry Awards’ Winners

The Hadfield Wood Recyclers Award for Innovation – Falkirk Council 

ISYS Award for Innovation (SME) – GroCycle 

NFDC Sustainable Construction & Demolition Award – Volker Fitzpatrick Rail Ltd 

The Recycling Registration Service Community Champion Award – Greenredeem 

P & L Software Sustainable Facilities Management Award – DHL Supply Chain / JD Wetherspoon 

Finning Health and Safety Best Practice Award – East Riding of Yorkhire Council 

ERM Energy Recovery Award – ReFood UK Ltd 

Rubble Master Zero Waste Award – Wingland Foods in partnership with WasteSolve 

The Cloud Sustainability Local Authority Waste Hierarchy Award – Inverclyde Council Vehicle, Plant & Equipment of the Year Award – Hako Machines Ltd

EPIC Media Communications Campaign Award – Suffolk Waste Partnership

Catalyst Corporate Finance Waste Fast 50 Award – New Earth Solutions


Send this to a friend