CIWM Unveils 2014 Sustainability & Resource Industry Awards Shortlist

[youtube=]The UK Sustainability & Resource Industry Awards, organised by the Chartered Institution of Wastes Management (CIWM) on behalf of the industry recognise and celebrate organisations for achievements, innovations and contributions across the waste and resource management sector.

The 53 shortlisted companies for 2014 showcase the innovative approach to waste and resource management that is being undertaken by private organisations and local authorities.

“This year’s submissions demonstrate the positive contribution individuals are making to reduce waste and enhance sustainability,” Steve Lee, chief executive Officer, CIWM said.

“The shortlist is an impressive celebration of the sustainability and resource achievements being made from large corporate organisations through to small businesses; each one has gone the extra mile to make a difference.”

TV presenter and adventurer Helen Skelton

The Awards will this year be presented by TV presenter and adventurer Helen Skelton. Helen rose to prominence at a young age and has gone on to become one of the most popular broadcasters on the BBC. Helen has taken on unbelievable challenges – kayaking the Amazon, running a 78-mile ultra marathon and cycling to the South Pole – and succeeded.

Judged by the most senior experts in the sector these awards represent the highest level of achievement.

They are split into two categories. The Professional Awards are awarded by CIWM for professional development and achievments and those termed the “industry awards” are for public sector and commercial excellence.

The Awards are entered and sponsored by organisations from all over the UK, which are passionate about excellence and thought leadership.

Previous winners include responsible retailers and construction companies, leading waste and resource management businesses, and enterprising SMEs.

You can book your place to attend this year’s event by clicking here

CIWM Awards Shortlist 2014

Hadfield Wood Recyclers Award for Innovation: Dorset Waste Partnership, Falkirk Council, FCC Environment, HH Global, John F Hunt Demolition Ltd

ISYS Award for Innovation (SME): Dunton Environmental, GroCycle, Siltbuster Ltd, ReCon Waste Management, WRc plc

The Recycling Registration Service Community Champion Award: Disco Soup Oxford, Bulky Bobs , Greenredeem, Hills Waste Solutions

EPIC Media Communications Campaign Award: Cumbria County Council, Dorset Waste Partnership, Southampton City Council, Suffolk Waste Partnership

ERM Energy Recovery Award: Chinook Sciences, Clarke Energy, FCC Environment, ReFood UK , SRCL Limited

Finning Health and Safety Best Practice Award: East Riding and York Council, FCC Environment, Serco Ltd

Local Authority Waste Hierarchy Award: Caerphilly County Borough Council, Inverclyde Council, North London Waste Authority, Swansea Waste Management Services

NFDC Sustainable Construction & Demolition Award: BAM Building Ireland, John F Hunt Demolition Ltd, Volkerfitzpatrick Ltd

P & L Software Sustainable Facilities Management Award: DHL Supply Chain/ JD Wetherspoon, University College London

Hopdeals.comVehicle, Plant & Equipment of the Year Award: Hako Machines Ltd, Rubblemaster, Vision Techniques

Rubble Master Zero Waste Award: DS Smith Recycling, Hain Daniels Chilled Foods Luton, Moy Park with Biffa IRM, SAICA Natur UK Ltd, Wingland Foods

Catalyst Corporate Finance Waste Fast 50 Award: Associated Waste Management, G.I. Hadfield & Son, Glass Recycling UK, New Earth Solutions, Reconomy, Redeem, Roydon Polythene, Salvation Army Trading Company Ltd, Transwaste Recycling & Aggregates, Specialist Waste Recycling

More information can be found at:


Send this to a friend