Creagh Elected Environmental Audit Committee Chair

The MP for Wakefield, Mary Creagh, has been elected as Chair of the Environmental Audit Committee, the Speaker has announced.

All Members of Parliament were able to vote in the election, which took place between 10am and 1.30pm on Wednesday 10 February.

Huw Irranca-Davies MP stood down as Chair in January, following the announcement he intended to run for the Welsh Assembly.

In 2010, Creagh was appointed Shadow Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs, before becoming Shadow Secretary of State for Transport in 2013.

In November 2014 she was appointed Shadow Secretary of State for International Development and in May 2015, she announced she would run for Leader of the Labour Party in the leadership election resulting from Ed Miliband’s resignation, though she later withdrew her candidacy.

Send this to a friend