Winners Revealed At CIWM’s Sustainability & Resource Awards 2015

CIWM-sutainabiity-and-resources-AwardsThe winners of CIWM’s 2015 Sustainability and Resource Awards, along with the Clean Britain Award winners for 2015, have been revealed at a ceremony this afternoon (Thursday). Among the winners are leading industry names such as Hills Waste Solutions, DS Smith, Viridor, Agrivert Group and Julian Glasspole of Vehicle Weighing Solutions.

The awards event, hosted by presenter of TV’s Countdown and former adviser to Lord Sugar on The Apprentice, Nick Hewer, also saw presentations made to the winners of the Clean Britain Awards, which saw the City of London named as the overall local authority winner for 2015.

The winners of the Sustainability and Resource Awards for 2015 are:

Best Use of Waste Hierarchy by a Local Authority Award – Caerphilly County Borough Council

Waste & Resources Learning & Development Award – Viridor: Ardley Energy Recovery Facility Visitor Centre

The M+W Group Energy Recovery Award – GENeco

The AMCS Group Best Resources Project by Facilities Management Award – Trinity Leeds (Land Securities) in partnership with Cawleys

Award For Demonstrating Project Innovation – Dixons Carphone and DHL Envirosolutions

M6 Vehicle Hire Best Innovation in Vehicle, Equipment, Plant & Facilities Award – Vision Techniques

Achieving Zero Waste Award – DS Smith

Best Recycling Project – Junkbusters: University of Birmingham

Most Sustainable Construction & Demolition Project Award – R Collard Limited

Delivering Health & Safety Best Practice Award – Hills Waste Solutions Limted

Most Effective Marketing or Communications Campaign Award – Surrey Waste Partnership

Industry Leader of the Year – For Exceptional Work in 2015 – Julian Glasspole

The Catalyst Corporate Finance Waste & Resources Fast 50 Award – Agrivert Group

PEEL People’s Cup, for site management – GENeco

The event also included some new awards for 2015, presented to members of the Institution for academic achievements. Those receiving awards in these categories were Edward Cook; Professor Ian Williams, Christopher Wilson and Simon Kemp; Prof David C Wilson MBE, Dr Ljiljana Rodic, Michael J Cowing, Dr Costas A Velis, Andrew Whiteman, Recaredo Eduardo Vilches Larrea, Darragh Masterson, Dr Anne Scheinberg, Barbara Oelz and Joachim Stretz.

And joining the City of London as Clean Britain Award winners were Community award winner, Mitcham Community Orchard and Garden; and Guardians of Public Spaces winner, Helping Hand Environmental. Gold silver and bronze awards were also made in three size categories for the local authorities:

Large category: Gold – London Borough of Enfield; Silver – London Borough of Tower Hamlets; Bronze – Northumberland County Council

Medium category: Gold – Braintree District Council; Silver – Southend Borough Council; Bronze – Reading Borough Council

Small category: Gold – City of London; Silver – London Borough of Broxbourne; Bronze – Daventry District Council



Send this to a friend